Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Capitalism: A Love Story - Michael Moore's solution: bring back Unions
According to the LA Times: "Capitalism" is not just Moore's latest documentary, it is, as the filmmaker himself has said, "the movie I've been making for the past 20 years."

"Everything I want to say is in this film.'' (http://tinyurl.com/yal6plc)

So when Michael Moore is doing an interview to promote the movie and the central ideas, to promote everything he wants to say, and is asked "How do you change this system? What's your solution" to the undemocratic economy, here is his reply:

"Well, people have to obviously get involved politically. We have to get money out of our politics. People have to think about unionizing. That actually worked, for my father, grandfather. It created the middle class."

The toady interviewer then came back with (actually interrupted with) the exact reply toadies are programmed to make, one I've heard almost every time I talk about unions: "But unions also can abuse their privilege." To which MM responded, and this is delicious:

"The everyday workers of this country right now, one out of eight mortgages right now is in delinquency or foreclosure. There's a forclosure filing once every seven and a half seconds. The jobless rate goes up. And I'm talking to employees back stage here who aren't like, they don't get to be real employees here so they don't get the benefits. So they're, like, freelancers. I said: 'God you were here two years ago and you were a freelancer then. What are you doing here?' Right back stage here at ABC. He says: 'Well we call ourselves permalancers now.' You know, that's because, they don't get to share in the basic benefits that an employee used to have who worked here. What's wrong with that? What is wrong with just giving people the basic things for their hard work?"

He shut that toady up.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JY1pcoBWp...dded#t=262